

Council Reorganization Meeting January 3, 2022 Minutes

Oath of Office

Notary Jennifer Bett administered the oath of office to Tavia Washington, and District Magistrate Tara Smith administered the oath of office to Jennifer Bett, Russell Kuehner Jim Thornton, and Mayor Melanie Hughes Holcomb all of whom then signed the oath to be filed of record.

Call to Order

Mayor Hughes-Holcomb called the meeting to order at 7:10 p.m.

Council Members Present

Jennifer Bett, Ken Opipery, Kara Roggenkamp, Rick Wagner, Russell Kuehner, Tavia Washington and Jim Thornton

Others Present

Mayor Melanie Hughes Holcomb District Magistrate Tara Smith Terrie Patsch, Borough Secretary Weston Pesillo, Solicitor

Pledge of Allegiance

Election of Officers

Mayor Hughes-Holcomb called for nominations for the office of Council President.

<u>Motion to nominate Richard Wagner</u>: Mrs. Bett; <u>Second</u>: Mr. Opipery; <u>Motion carried</u> by unanimous voice vote to elect Richard Wagner to the office of Ben Avon Borough Council President.

Mr. Wagner called for nominations for the office of Council Vice President.

<u>Motion to nominate Jennifer Bett</u>: Mr. Kuehner; <u>Second</u>: Mr. Opipery; <u>Motion</u> <u>carried</u> by unanimous voice vote to elect Mrs. Bett to the office of Ben Avon Borough Council Vice President.

Appointments

Borough Solicitor

<u>Motion</u>: Mr. Opipery; <u>Second</u>: Mrs. Bett; <u>Motion carried</u> by unanimous voice vote to appoint Daniel Conlon and the firm of Tucker Arensberg as the Borough Solicitor.

Borough Engineer

<u>Motion</u>: Mrs. Roggenkamp; <u>Second</u>: Mr. Opipery; <u>Motion carried</u> by unanimous voice vote to appoint Gateway Engineers as the engineering firm for the Borough.

Tax Collector

<u>Motion</u>: Mrs. Bett; <u>Second</u>: Mrs. Roggenkamp; <u>Motion carried</u> by unanimous voice vote to appoint Terrie Patsch, Borough Secretary, as the tax collector and deputizing Keystone and Jordan Tax Service as collector of Borough taxes.

Other Board/Commission Appointments

Newspaper of Record

<u>Motion</u>: Mrs. Bett; <u>Second</u>: Mrs. Washington; <u>Motion carried</u> by unanimous voice vote to appoint The Citizen as the official newspaper for legal advertisements.

Depository of Funds

<u>Motion</u>: Mr. Opipery; <u>Second</u>: Mrs. Roggenkamp; <u>Motion carried</u> by unanimous voice vote to appoint Northwest Savings Bank as the depository of funds.

Zoning Hearing Board Member

<u>Motion</u>: Mrs. Bett; <u>Second</u>: Mr. Thornton; <u>Motion carried</u> by unanimous voice vote to appoint Rebecca Schwartz to another three-year term on the Zoning Hearing Board.

Committee Assignments

Mr. Wagner asked council members to select committees on which to serve in 2022:

- Administration Jennifer Bett, Tavia Washington
- Public Affairs Russell Kuehner, Jennifer Bett
- Finance Ken Opipery, Russell Kuehner
- Public Works Ken Opipery, Kara Roggenkamp
- Sustainability Kara Roggenkamp, Jim Thornton
- Public Safety Jim Thornton, Rick Wagner
- Community of Governments Rick Wagner, Tavia Washington

Adjournment

<u>Motion</u>: Mr. Opipery; <u>Second</u>: Mrs. Roggenkamp; <u>Motion carried</u> by unanimous voice vote to adjourn the meeting at 7:19 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Terrie Patsch

Borough Secretary